Choux Pastry Steps in Pictures

February 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve decided to try to take pictures of the choux pastry in the making since I had questions from my original post awhile back. I think I said I was going to time myself on the steps, but with a toddler practically smacking me for attention, it didn’t work out that way. But I do have pictures, except for one, which was the one I really wanted to get….next time?

These pastries are so easy to make and can be filled with so many different things. This time I had some leftover meyer lemon cheesecake (the crust wasn’t working for me so I scraped the cheesecake out and piped it into my choux pastries). I agree with one of my reader about this recipe maybe using too much butter, so next time I might switch to just using oil. Healthier and lighter maybe. We’ll see how that goes.

Choux Pastry (recipe found here)

1. In a saucepan over medium heat, bring the milk, water, and butter to a boil.

2. Reduce heat to medium-low and add flour mixture all at once. Immediately start stirring with a wooden spoon until mixture becomes a ball. (This is where I described it wrong, it doesn’t really become like a round ball, but it pulls away from the sides of the pan and moves with the spoon. More like a mound than a ball.) This is the picture I really wanted to get, but didn’t. So when I do, I’ll add it to this post as an update.

3. Transfer ball to a bowl and beat it with a wooden spoon to cool the paste. Add eggs one at a time making sure to fully incorporate each one before adding more. (The amount of eggs you need will vary, beat one at a time until you get a paste like consistency that holds it’s shape when piped.) Here is how it looked after each egg addition:

1 egg

2 eggs

3 eggs

4 eggs (I stopped at 4)

4. Transfer dough to a large pastry bag fitted with a large open tip (I used a large star tip). Pipe onto parchment lined sheet pans.

5. Bake for 10 minutes.Reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake another 30 minutes.

6. Allow the pastries to cool before filling. If you’re making these ahead, place in an airtight container in the fridge after completely cooled and reheat in the oven for a few minutes to crisp them back up. (350 degrees for like 4-5 mins is what I did)

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Choux Pastry Steps in Pictures at foodie julie.

meta

