Cuban Style Sloppy Joes

February 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

Wow it’s been a long time since I’ve posted. There’s just been so much going on and especially with my son walking now, I have no time to sit down and blog after baking or cooking. So after making dinner tonight I decided I was going to just post this one and go back to revisit my “to-do” blogs later.

This sloppy joe remix is from Rachel Ray and its actually really good! I had to change it up some because I didn’t have some ingredients, but would definitely make this again. Quick and easy meal, my favorite type.

Sloppy Cubanos (adapted from Rachel Ray)

  • 1/4 lb chorizo
  • 1.25 lb ground turkey (lean)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 c chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste (heaping spoonful)
  • 4 rolls (I used Hawaiian)
  • shredded cheese, for garnish
  • sliced gherkins, for garnish
  • shredded cabbage, for garnish

Heat large skillet over medium high heat.

Cook chorizo about 2 mins, then add turkey and cook for about 5 mins.

Stir in onions, garlic, and spices. Cook for about 5 mins.

Stir in brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, and orange juice.

Mix tomato paste into chicken broth, then add skillet.

Simmer until thickened. (I simmered it for 10 mins.)

Divide mixture between the rolls, top with garnishes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cuban Style Sloppy Joes at foodie julie.

meta

