Maca-wrongs….Almost Macarons!

September 16, 2011 § 14 Comments

This is batch #4 of my macaron trials. There are still things going wrong, such as a huge air pocket and not-so-pretty feet. Also the buttercream is in need of work. Once again, I’ll post the recipe when it actually comes out right. Also, if any of you have suggestions or tips please let me know. πŸ™‚

Just piped batter. (Looks ok here I thought.)
Just out of the oven. (It’s too rounded here and the feet are almost non-existent.)
Big air pocket. (Not cooked long enough? Under-mixed?…)
Batch #4
Addition: Here is the recipe that I promised!
Lemon Macaron Shells (recipe adapted from BraveTart):
  • 115 g almond flour
  • 230 g powdered sugar (I still think it’s a little too sweet, so will probably work on the nut/sugar ratio)
  • 144 g egg whites
  • 30 g sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 12 drops of yellow food coloring
Sift almond flour and powdered sugar. Set aside.
In a clean stainless steel bowl, beat egg whites and salt until foamy. About 3 minutes (I used a hand-held beater on med/low)
Add sugar and beat on medium for about 3 more minutes. It’ll look soft and like whip cream.
Turn mixer to med/high and beat for another 3 minutes until its shiny and stiff.
Add in zest and food coloring (all I had was liquid).
Beat on high for a minute so it can all incorporate.
Fold in the dry nut/sugar mixture until incorporated. (This is where I always under-mixed! I was so afraid to deflate the meringue, but you actually DO have to deflate it a bit)
Fill batter into a pastry bag with a round tip.
Pipe 2 inch circles on baking trays lined with parchment paper.
Give the trays firm taps on the counter or table to release any small air bubbles in the batter.
Let the piped batter rest until it is matte looking and dry to the touch. 30-60 mins. (Not too long or else they’ll stick to the parchment later. Learned this the hard way.)
Bake in a 300 degree oven for 20-22 minutes.
Remove from oven and let cool on tray.
Blueberry Cream Cheese Filling:
  • 1/2 package of cream cheese
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 c powder sugar
  • 1/4 c blueberry jam (I used the jam from this recipe since it was in the fridge, but even pureed blueberries would work.)
Beat all the ingredients until fluffy.
Place filling into a pastry bag with a round tip.
Pipe onto a macaron shell and top with another shell similar in size.
§ 14 Responses to Maca-wrongs….Almost Macarons!

  • they LOOK gorgeous! I love the yellow and lavender together.

    I have no idea what the answer is – just today I talked about my macaron experiment of making them vegan!

  • Una says:

    Hello, lovely blog. I just thought I’d let you know that usually when you have a large air pocket in baked macaroons its because they have been under cooked. If the air pocket forms before the biscuits are cooled its usually due to either over beating the meringues or under mixing (leaving too much air in the batter).

    Good luck!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks una!

      Yeah I think the air pocket is from undermixing too. I felt like the batter was flowing pretty good already when I mixed, but my next batch I’ll try just a few more strokes.

  • Miss Knotty says:

    Your macarons are gorgeous! Even if they’re not perfect, they look lovely. I look forward to your blueberry buttercream recipe. Do you suppose a blueberry-lemon curd would hold together?

  • Alexander says:

    Hey I’m 14 and I’m from Ireland,Europe .the large air pocket can be solved by, before putting the macaroon in the oven give the baking tray 2 or 3 firm bangs on the counter top and this usually gets rid of any large air bubbles, hope this helps

    • Julie says:

      @Alexander- wow 14 and baking macarons?! I didn’t even know about that at that age. Very impressed πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the tip. I tap them before letting them rest. But the problem I get is one huge hollow pocket. I’ll keep trying different things like mixing more, longer baking time, etc.

      Hopefully it won’t be too many more batches like this!

  • Anna says:

    When I get the air pocket during macaron baking, I find that its because of a drop in temperature. When I first started making them I would preheat to 375 and then lower it to 305 as they baked, this is when the air pockets happened. What is the temperature at which you are baking? Do you lower the temp or open your oven door during the baking process?

  • bluebear74 says:

    In my latest batch I got the big air pocket too. I’m not sure if I didn’t mix it enough, or the fact I took them out, they weren’t ready and put the back in again, though I don’t think it’s the later because there was one tray that stayed in and still had them. My brother had his batch in there too and his were fine.

  • Jessica says:

    Hello!

    I love you blueberry frosting recipe for the macarons! I will definitely try it out! I noticed that for me, when I let it sit out on the counter to give it a matte look, it doesn’t form feet. So maybe you should bake it right away. I also bake it on a double sheet pan (thats what my chef told me to do in culinary school) and it really works for me! I get really nice macarons with cute feet everytime.

    • Julie says:

      Hi Jessica!

      Thanks for the tips! I haven’t attempted my macarons in awhile, thanks for the reminder that I need to get back to trying those. πŸ™‚ I will try the double sheet pan idea. I’ve heard from others that the drying process doesnt work either, maybe I’ll leave that out next time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maca-wrongs….Almost Macarons! at foodie julie.

meta

