Choux Pastry with Vanilla Bean Pastry Cream

September 14, 2011 § 11 Comments

If you’ve read my last post, you might know I have tons of egg yolks in the fridge from all my macaron attempts. I didn’t want to waste them so while doing some reading (reading a cookbook of course…) I came across the perfect recipe. Vanilla pastry cream from my Sugarbaby cookbook. 6 yolks needed, CHECK! I made the choux pastry from the same book and together they were delicious!

Recipe (adapted from Sugarbaby):

Vanilla Bean Pastry Cream

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 4 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 c milk
  • 1 c heavy cream
  • 1 split vanilla bean

Beat eggs, sugar, cornstarch, vanilla, and salt until light and fluffy.

In a heavy saucier over medium-high heat, bring the milk,cream, and vanilla bean to a boil.

Take the vanilla bean out (save it for your vanilla sugar).

Carefully pour the hot mixture into the egg mixture. (very carefully and turn the mixer to low, but you will need to keep it mixing while pouring)

Scrape the bowl down and keep mixing for another minute.

Pour the mixture back into the same saucier (but cleaned).

Over medium-high heat, whisk the mixture until it gets thick like mayonnaise.. (it seems to happen all at once, so don’t stop mixing or step away)

Sieve the mixture into a bowl to make sure its completely smooth.

Cover with plastic wrap (touch wrap to the cream) and place in fridge until you’re ready to use.

Choux Pastry

  • 1 c flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c water
  • 1 c milk
  • 3/4 c butter
  • 6 eggs (the recipe said 10, but you might need more or less, explained below)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Whisk together the flour and salt.

In a saucepan over medium heat, bring the milk, water, and butter to a boil.

Reduce heat to medium-low and add flour all at once.

Immediately start stirring with a wooden spoon until mixture becomes a ball.

Transfer ball to a bowl and beat it (I used the wooden spoon by hand, the recipe said to use the stand mixer with the paddle attachement…too lazy to lug that thing out) to cool the paste a bit.

Add eggs one at a time making sure to fully incorporate each one before adding more. (The amount of eggs you need will vary, beat one at a time until you get a paste like consistency that holds it’s shape when piped.)

Transfer dough to a large pastry bag fitted with a large open tip (I used a large star tip).

Pipe onto parchment lined sheet pans. (I piped mine like you would a soft serve ice cream.)

Bake for 10 minutes.

Reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake another 30 minutes.

Allow the pastries to cool before filling.

Filling:

Transfer pastry cream into a pastry bag with a skinny round tip. Not too small so that it’s hard to squeeze out, but small enough so there isn’t a huge hole in your choux pastry.

Find a side of the choux pastry, insert the tip halfway and squeeze the pastry cream while slowly pulling out. You’ll feel the pastry getting heavier.

§ 11 Responses to Choux Pastry with Vanilla Bean Pastry Cream

  • Oh wow, they look spectacular. I’m going to make profiteroles once my chocolate chunk cookies have gone (not long). These would be perfect for my blog because they are known for being quite posh and decadent – yet they would cost next to nothing to make! In fact I shall make eclairs and profiteroles.

    • Julie says:

      @frugalfeeding

      Yeah I was so surprised at how inexpensive these were to make since they cost quite a bit at the stores. Yum eclairs would be so good with chocolate all over. I was going to dust mine with powdered sugar but started eating them off the pan. 🙂

      Can’t wait to see your profiteroles and eclairs!

  • anh says:

    Can you tell me if you need one of those fancy Kitchen Aid mixers to mix the ingredients or can I use an electric hand mixer (the one w/ the two whisk-like mixer wands)?

    • Julie says:

      No you don’t need the big stand mixers, I actually just used a wooden spoon. Never tried it with the hand mixers but I’m sure that would work too. The wooden spoon makes cleaning up easier. 🙂

  • Anh says:

    Hi! Tried making this and the pastry dough never stiffened up per your description. I added more egs. It seems as if it had so much butter and never got into a ball after I mixed in the flour. Should I use more flour next time?

    • Julie says:

      Hi!

      How long did you cook it after adding the flour and on how high a heat? How did it look?

      When the flour is added it looks like béchamel sauce for a while and then all of a sudden it’ll start thickening and turn into a ball.

      When you add the eggs, add them one at a time. Each time you add the egg it’ll separate your mixture and look curdish, but keep mixing and it will smooth out. If you add too many eggs it’ll be more runny.

      • Anh says:

        Julie, I used medium low heat per the instructions, but the dough still looked curd-like. I’m guessing for about 10 minutes with no changes.

        The curd-like texture did turn smooth once I went to the phase to add the eggs. I used about 7, but the consistency did not change from 5-7 eggs, so I stopped. Definitely could not make the soft-serve ice cream shape since things didn’t hold up, but they tasted good and filling was delish. Based on how many I was able to make, I think I am going to increase my filling by 1/2 ratio next time. And use less butter. Noticed that on several epicurious recipes, they only used 1/2 c of butter vs 3/4. I’ll try it again.

      • Julie says:

        Hmm…sorry they didn’t turn out, I’ll make it again sometime soon just so I can get exact times down.

        If it didn’t hold its shape I’m thinking maybe use less eggs. So you might need as little as 2 or so eggs. I’ve seen many recipes and I agree, this one uses more butter than most, so cutting back might work too. Not too sure unless I try it out. 🙂

        Let me know how it goes next time you try it with your changes. Ill comment when I get to making it again.

        ________________________________

      • Julie says:

        Hi Anh!
        Just FYI I added a new post with pictures of the choux pastry steps. Unfortunately I forgot the picture of when it comes together with the flour, but I hope the pictures help if you’re still trying that recipe!
        Julie

  • […] Choux Pastry (recipe found here) […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Choux Pastry with Vanilla Bean Pastry Cream at foodie julie.

meta

