Banana Cake with Honey Whipped Cream

June 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

I love to bake with what I already have at home and this cake recipe helped use up some over ripe bananas. This is a super easy and quick recipe for a light and moist banana cake.

 

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com (surprise banana cake)

Ingredients:

1/2 c butter

3/4 c vanilla sugar

1/4 c brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

4 ripe bananas (mashed with a fork)

2 c cake flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp nutmeg

 

Directions:

Preheat to 375 degrees. Line a 9×13 pan with parchment paper.

Cream the sugars with the butter.

Add eggs, vanilla, and banana.

Sift flour, salt, baking soda, and nutmeg.

Add flour mixture to the wet mixture and mix until combined.

Pour into pan and bake for 30 mins.

 

For the honey whipped cream:

(I just made a little since most of the cake was eaten plain.)

Beat 1/2 c heavy whipping cream.

Add 1 tbsp honey and 2 tbsp vanilla sugar.

Beat until combined and peaks form.

§ 4 Responses to Banana Cake with Honey Whipped Cream

  • […] baked up the banana cake from my last post (since, again, there were leftover bananas) for […]

  • I really love this photo… The soft colors are so gentle and inviting, and the shallow depth of field gives it a very soft, dreamy look. Nicely done- Including the delicious cake, of course. 🙂

  • erinbeachamrin says:

    Hi! I’m an avid baker, and I came across your recipe today while I was looking for something to make my calculus teacher. His wife has cancer, and things are hard for them right now… so I thought I’d bake something to cheer them up a bit. I can honestly say that this is the best thing I have ever made – ever. I usually barely sample what I bake, but I had to MAKE myself stop eating this! It was AWESOME! 😀

    • Julie says:

      Thanks for your comment and for visiting!

      First of all that’s so nice what you’re doing for your teacher. I’m sure he’ll appreciate it.

      And you made my day with your nice comment. This cake is so light tasting, it tastes healthy. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the cake!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Banana Cake with Honey Whipped Cream at foodie julie.

meta

