Soft Pretzels

February 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

Soft, dense, chewy, salty pretzels!

When I was younger I lived in Philly for a little bit and I can still remember these pretzels they had. We would be in class and during “naptime” while everyone had their eyes closed and heads down, my eyes and ears were waiting for the pretzel guy. He would roll his cart into the classroom and I would rush to give him my 50 cents in exchange for the warm, twisted, yummy goodness.

I can’t seem to find a place in Southern Cali with the same type of pretzel. Most of the chain stores are too buttery/greasy and way too skinny. And the shape of the Philly pretzel….I still can’t seem to make it like that, but that shape even makes it better because the edges touch while baking and the touched edges are soft when pulled apart. Perfect contrast to the chewy exterior.

Below is the recipe from Alton Brown I followed and some images I took:

1 tbsp sugar
2 tsp kosher salt
1 pkg active yeast
1 1/2 c warm water (110-115 degrees)
4 1/2 c of ap flour
4 tbsp melted butter

for boiling:
baking soda
water

for pretzel before baking:
egg yolk
water
kosher salt

pretzels before boiling and baking

pretzel and pretzel dogs before boiling and baking

pretzels after baking....finally!

just out the oven

fresh pretzels and pretzel dogs just out the oven. 8D

These were so good, but I’m not a fan of the butter taste, so next time I will be omitting that or putting very little. Another thing is I’ll cool it on a rack instead of on the baking pan next time so the bottoms won’t get too soggy. Otherwise, great recipe. Now I just need to perfect that twist. 8)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soft Pretzels at foodie julie.

meta

