Pesto Chicken Pizza

February 6, 2013 § 1 Comment

Pesto Chicken Pizza

Pesto Chicken Pizza

My husband and I used to eat at CPK (California Pizza Kitchen) a few times a week. Sometimes twice a day!!! My favorites there changed over the years and the last few years it was their thin crust pesto chicken pizza. I LOVED that pizza. Doesn’t matter if I was full on appetizers and bread before my pizza came, the entire pizza had no chance of survival.

Notice how the pizza is referred to in past tense? Well not too long ago they revamped their menu. I had a break from them because I was pregnant with my second baby and was so sick I barely left the house. Anyway, when I managed to make it back there to order the pesto chicken pizza….. It was gone. GONE! I asked the waitress and she verified it was no longer on the menu. They couldn’t even make a close copy with what ingredients they had on hand. I was so sad and could barely eat a few bites of the other pizza she suggested. It was probably half a year since that day and I’ve gone back just two other times. Once for pasta and then recently to see if there’s any pizza they could make to be just a little close to my much missed pizza. They couldn’t do it.

Now when I crave that pizza I have to make it myself. Although the crust isn’t as good as theirs (I still haven’t invested in the whole pizza stone process), its still a pretty tasty pizza. I used the no-knead method for the dough and it’s one of the easiest dough ever!

So if you’re missing CPK’s Pesto Chicken Pizza or just like pesto chicken this is a good pizza to try. Enjoy!

 

Pizza dough recipe from Handle the Heat and adapted from Bon Appetit.

Ingredients

  • 3-3/4 c ap flour
  • 1/4 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1-1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 c warm water

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.

Slowly add warm water, mixing with a spoon until all water is incorporated.

Shape dough into a ball and transfer to a clean bowl and cover. Let rise until doubled (up to 18 hrs). I let mine rise overnight.

Transfer dough onto a floured work surface and divide into three equal portions.

For each portion, take the dough and gather the four “corners” to the center to create 4 folds. Turn seam side down and roll into a ball.

Let dough rest, uncovered, for an hour before use.

The other portions can be refrigerated for up to 3 days or frozen for up to a month. Just let it defrost in fridge for a day (if frozen), then sit out at room temperature for 2-3 hours before using.

 

Pesto Chicken Pizza

Ingredients

  • 1 portion pizza dough (see above)
  • 1/3 c pesto sauce
  • 1/2 c mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 c Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 c chicken, cooked and cut into strips
  • pine nuts, as much as you like
  • sun-dried tomatoes, as much as you like
  • basil leaves

Preheat oven to 500-550 degrees. (depends on how high your oven can go)

Shape the dough into about a 12″ circle, or whatever shape it becomes since mine did not want to be a circle.

Spread the pesto sauce on the dough.

Top with ingredients.

Bake for about 10 mins or until the bottom is golden and crisp and cheese is melted.

Top with torn basil leaves.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Pesto Chicken Pizza

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pesto Chicken Pizza at foodie julie.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

